I am new and wonder

My name is AMy. I have a diffuse axonal brain injury. I want to chat with others who are dealing with things or have answers about what they experienced and about similar life situations.

I was a professor and in education forever. I was injured June 18, 2016. Freak accident but the trauma injuries just failed to get someone to order head scans.

A DAI can go downhill for up to 2 years as the axons continue to break and scar. First diagnosis was early onset Alzheimer’s and then someone who knew brain injuries said the atrophy and white scars were from a DAI. Let’s just say I was working towards an important part of my career and it all stopped. I was the bread winner. My husband stayed home. I finally was approved (first time through) for disability and slowly things have gotten financially better. I get nothing like I was paid, but my disability is good enough.

The hardest part of having a brain injury was being a mom. I was 45 with kids… son about to be a HS freshman and now a college freshman. My second son was about to be a 5th grade and now HS freshman. My daughter was about to be a 2nd grader and now sixth grade in middle school. We are on NTI days until January which is learning at home virtually.

I am proud of my kids and who they are as people. Their dad is top notch as a father. He handles making money along with my disability.

I grieved so badly. Acceptance is ongoing. I miss helping people. Making a difference and I miss knowing my purpose. I foster kittens. They are the highlight of my world. I get them from brand new to all bottle babies. I will get special needs or feral as well to accustom them to a home. It is a privilege to get these little 4 ounce creatures with umbilical cords attached and eyes closed and become what to them is their momma. It is fun and sometimes heartbreaking when we lose one. But the kids love it.