My son lives with a TBI

Hello. My name is Gail, and I am an Osteopathic physician. My son–Joshua–is 42 and when he was 32, he suffered a traumatic brain injury with anoxic encephalopathy due to drugs. His roommate let him lay there for three days before he called 911, he thought Josh was “sleeping it off”.Every doc who treated him said he would die. HE didn’t. A month in the neuro ICU after coming out of the coma, and six months in a nursing home (if he’s gone to any nursing home with a free bed he would have died); I took him to the nursing home where I saw patients, and all worked to save him. He has bad impulse control problems. There’s too much to explain here in one piece. He lives every day trying to be normal. HE lost his hearing, stroked his entire brain, suffered a heart attack, was in kidney failure, etc. He has trouble keeping jobs because of his problems, He wants to be normal, and starts every day trying to lead a normal life. It breaks my heart watching him go through life. He’s had several injures since then that have aggravated his health

Welcome, Gail
You and Joshua are are in a difficult spot, and we’re really glad that you found our community. While we can’t solve everyone’s problems, the thing we can do is “get it”.
This group is populated with great people who have “been there” and who understand only too well what living with a TBI means – whether that TBI is your own, or it’s your friend’s or your family member’s.
Joshua is fortunate to have a mother who cares, and who also knows more than the average lay person about treatments and the ways of the medical world.
We hope that you will find support and comfort here. Reach out, and join in on the conversations. We’re glad that you’re here.
Seenie from ModSupport

Thank you in advance for the help I am sure I will find here

1 Like